Rodous’s Watermill
The Watermill of Rodou is one of the two watermills located in the village of Galata. It was formerly owned by the Monastery of Podithou and was restored in 2002. It is preserved as a museum by the community.
It consists of two imposing towering arches, with the groove at the top of which the water flowing from the top was passed, so that it had the power to turn the millstones to grind grains. The building itself is an exquisite building of invaluable architectural value, but the nature that surrounds it is of unique beauty. One can find it by walking down the stone alley below the Galata Cultural Centre. Built on the west bank of the Karkotis River, it is surrounded by lush vegetation creating an exquisite view that will not leave the visitor unimpressed.
The watermill ends with a small nature trail, starting from the church of Archangel Michael. The route covers a distance of one kilometre and runs along the riverside. The path gives the walkers the opportunity to experience the flora of the area, consisting of skitrels, plane trees, poplars, myrtle trees, ivy, while at the same time you can visit two important monuments of the Byzantine period, the churches of Panagia Podithou and the church of Archangel Michael.
Location
Monuments
Kykkos Watermill
In the village of Kalopanagiotis located in the valley of Marathasa, which was created by the Setrachos river, lies one of the best preserved watermills of the island. Originally belonging to the Kykkos Monastery, they called it ‘The Kykkos Watermill’
Markos Drakou Monument
Markos Drakos was born in Lefka in 1932 and studied at the Samuel School. He was one of the first called to fight in the National Organization of Cypriot Fighters (EOKA), which fought against British colonialism. On the 1st of April, 1955, the official
Monument of the 256 Infantry Battalion
The 256 Infantry Battalion had its headquarters, after the invasion, in Evrychou. National guards from all corners of Cyprus served it and played a decisive role in the main fronts of the battles. On August 6, and while the truce was agreed, the men of
O Mylos tis Gonias (The Corner Mill)
The abundant waters of Kakopetria, Karkotis and Garillis, gave the necessity for the construction of watermills. O Mylos tis Gonias was one of them. It was built above the main road, on the left bank of the river Agios Nikolaos – a tributary of the Kar









