Church of Panagia Chrysopantanassa
The church of Panagia Chrysopantanassa, according to the inscription on the southern door of the church, appears to have been built in 1905. When it was built, it was in the centre of the village, but today, with the extension that the village has taken, it is located in the northeast edge of the village.
Architecturally, it has a rectangular construction of vaulted and tiled. Inside it is stone built, made of stone of the area and the pavement is made of concrete slabs. Its tall and arched bell tower touches the church and is located to the east of the church.
The interior of the chapel is not hagiographed but its iconostasis has a special structure. It is made of cast concrete and has a unique finish, which gives the effect of wood-carved construction, which is not common. The Despotic throne is wooden and carved, and was donated by the priest of the village.
In 1960 the church had reached a miserable state. With the contribution of the community and the church, it was entirely preserved. It is celebrated on the same day as the inauguration of the church, on the 8th of September, with the display of the Holy Icon of Our Lady.
Location
Churches
Church of Archangel Michael
The church of Archangel Michael is a wood-chapel church dating from the 16th century and is very close to the church of Panagia Podithou. Although the church is dedicated to the Virgin Mary, it is more known as the church of Archangel Michael. Its dime
Church of Ioakim and Anni
The church of Saints Ioakim and Anni in the centre of the village is one of the oldest of the Solea region (12th century). It is built in the a single-aisled Basilica style, which carries a wooden, pebbled, tiled roof. The church is built with stone. T
Church of Panagia Asinou
The church of Panagias Forviotissas, better known as Panagia Asinou, is built southwest of Nikitari village. It is the main church of the Monastery ton Forvion, from where its name comes. In an inscription dated around 1105/6 located above the southern
Church of Panagia of Moutoullas
To the south of the village, on a rocky hill overlooking the area and at a distance of 300 meters from the main road, is the church of Panagia, called “Moutoullas” (formerly “The Most Holy Theotokos of Gerakiotis”). The name of the temple is due to the
Church of Panagia Rodon to Amaranto (Our Lady of the Unwilted Rose)
The village of Kato Koutrafas is located a few kilometres after Astromeritis to Troodos. It is an abandoned village and its few inhabitants are mainly engaged in agriculture and livestock farming. The church of the village is dedicated to the Virgin Ma
Church of the Timios Stavros (Holy Cross)
The church of the Timios Stavros (Holy Cross) is located at the exit of the Community of Tembria, on the road to Korakou-Evrychou on the top of a hill overlooking the mountain. Tradition connects its building with the discovery and transfer of the Cros
Holy Church of Panagia Exartimenon (Our Lady)
The name of the village of Kannavia, probably originated from the fact that in the area, the cannabis plant, one of the main types of cultivation in Cyprus in the past, was cultivated extensively in older times. Of utmost importance, in the history of
Old church of Agios Ioannis tou Theologou (St. John The Theologian)
The small village of Sina Oros (Mount Sinai) in the Solea region is now abandoned, since there is only one coffee shop operating in the centre of the village. Surrounded by an exquisite natural environment, it has an amazing climate and its unique hous













